Skip to content

Should’ve Used TypeTribe: 3oh!3’s “Don’t Trust Me”

July 9, 2009
tags:

music-noteIf 3oh!3’s songwriter’s had created a customizable TypeTribe focus group targeting social workers (or pretty much anybody), they wouldn’t have ended up with the following unfortunate lyrics in their song, “Don’t Trust Me”:

I said shush girl
Shut your lips
Do the Helen Keller and talk with your hips!

Ugh. Should’ve Used TypeTribe (SUTT).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. T-Mac permalink
    July 9, 2009 12:44 pm

    Here’s a SUTT. It’s not something someone wrote or said, but how poorly excellent demographic stereotyping was interpreted. Does anyone remember the critics’ reactions to the movie “Office Space” when it came out? It was not well-received by the professional critics. However, the movie has become a cult classic because people who actually work in offices completely relate to so many aspects of the movie. I can only imagine though, that long-time movie critics would have no idea what frustrations and peccadillos someone living in a cube farm faces every day, just as I wouldn’t know what goes on in the life of a baker or a construction worker. I’d call this a major SUTT on the part of those critics, a blemish on their records. I’d probably slap any one of them if I ever met them in person. No words, just a hearty slap. (OK, maybe I’d throw in, “You SUTT!” as I slapped them.)

Trackbacks

  1. Should’ve Used TypeTribe « Jamey Stegmaier's Blog

Leave a comment