Skip to content

First TypeTribe Contest Results

August 4, 2009

48 hours have come and gone since I opened the polls for the first TypeTribe contest, and you probably already know the winner of the sentence portion of the contest. Congratulations, Becca! $25 is already on her way via the genies over at PayPal.

One interesting lesson to learn from this contest for all writers is that promotion matters. You can’t just let your work sit out there and expect people to come find it. You have to let people know about your work so they can give it a try. TypeTribe is just as much about promotion–the kind of promotion that the recipients feel good about, feel invested in–as it is reviewing and improving your work.

Now comes the hard part…judging the comments. Man, this was hard. How do you judge the quality of feedback? The only guidelines I gave were “constructive, insightful feedback.” I have to say that I was blown away by the quality of the feedback. I hope the writers of those sentences appreciate and consider what those reviewers wrote.

I managed to eliminate a few of the reviewers. Two tough ones to eliminate were Josh and Red, both of whom provided solid feedback (and I hope both of you give this a try for the next contest), but I felt like some of the comments were a bit harsh and not as constructive as they could’ve been, and Josh’s brevity hurt him compared to the other, longer comments.

As for Cara, Trevor, Becca, and Nancy…wow. Absolutely fantastic. You’re the type of readers I’m hoping to attract to TypeTribe. You’ll be making a pretty penny if you’re willing to offer feedback like that all the time.

As I write this, I don’t know who’s going to win the feedback contest. I just can’t decide between the four of you, so I’ve assigned a number to each of you and I’m hopping over to random.org to draw the winner’s name. And the winner is…

Trevor!

Cara, Becca, and Nancy, great job. All of you deserved to win this, but if I’m going to afford future contests, I can’t give $25 to each of you! Come back next time and give it another go.

For the next TypeTribe contest, I’m going to do two things:

  1. Fewer entrants. I thought 8-10 would be the right amount, but I think 5 may be the magic number. For those who participated this time, do me a favor and get your friends to enter next time before you do, just to get some fresh voices. But I want you back too! 🙂
  2. More specific feedback. This’ll help me hone the judging, and perhaps commenting will be less daunting.

I’m going to post the next contest sometime next week, so subscribe to this blog to be ready!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 9:14 am

    I would like to thank my friends, my family, and my mother, for crying while she told me this would be fun many years ago. =) Thanks Jamey, for the great contest-will definitely send my friends this way for participation in the next one!

  2. August 5, 2009 11:11 am

    Thanks! Great job writing such a great sentence and for promoting it so effectively!

Leave a Reply

